top of page
Search
  • heathermarohl

Considering Age and Gender: When Picking an Exchange Student



This is based on my personal opinions and expierence. All students have great possibility and you will need to decide on what is best for you and your family.


We have always hosted female students, I do not have experience in hosting male students. But, I can share with you why I picked females. First, I work from home so I am in my pajamas most of the day and honestly that does not include wearing a bra and having female students around I still feel comfortable being that way. I do not think I would be comfortable with a male, and I am already changing a lot about my life just host students so I would rather not add wardrobe at home to it. Second, they seem more open, more willing to try new things. Third, I understand teenage girls having been one and teenage boys just seem kinda gross to me. hahah. You think I am joking but that is one of my reasons, now not everyone will feel the same and I’m glad for that. Maybe one day I will be more open to the possibility of hosting a male student. But for now, I’ll stick with the ladies.



We have had all the ages from starting at 15 to ending at 18. Now, each student is completely different but generally speaking the older the student the more mature. Generally. And it may be more mature in different ways, like emotional maturity vs being able to take care of yourself (cooking, cleaning, …) are two very different things and they might not come as a package deal. But I will tell you this of the younger students we have had, their year with us matured them a lot; they all change a good amount being far away from home and experiencing a whole new culture but the 15-year-olds show it more. I do prefer the ages of 16/17, a bit more emotionally mature but not quite an adult. The 18 year olds can get that “I am an adult and don’t have to listen to you” attitude and that just doesn’t fly here. But again, everyone matures at a different rate so you could end up with a very mature 15 year old or a very immature 18 year old.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page