top of page
Search
  • heathermarohl

Fall 2020 Exchange Cancelled: Sad but Understandable

Updated: Jul 24, 2020



So last night we got word that our exchange organization (EF) is cancelling the Fall 2020 exchange program. Not shocking news considering what is going on in America with COVID-19 cases spiking across the country and schools opening up with online school for at least the first nine weeks. Not shocking and understandable but also sad.


I am sad for myself and the girls I was supposed to host for the 2020/2021 exchange year. I am sad for all the host families and students that have already created bonds and relationships. I am sad for all the students that have been waiting for this opportunity their entire lives.


In the spring I was mad, very mad, at the organization and how they handled sending the students home early. But I am not mad at them this go around, this decision was hard and made early enough and I feel with more care. The country is not in a safe place right now. It would not be the year (or at least the fall) the students and host families signed up for: activities/festivals being canceled, entertainment venues being closed, schools not opening for in-classroom instruction, and no school sports. I am mad however at America and its (lack of) leadership. This could have been over if people would have listened to scientist and not reality tv stars or politicians who care more about money than human lives and health. But that anger does nothing for anyone, so, it is what it is. Hopefully we will take this time and repair and rebuild our health and health systems, economy, and country as a whole.


I hope that the students that can rebook for either the Spring 2021 semester of the 2021-2022 exchange year do, we still want them to come! My own girls are planning on doing just that, they asked that if we would be willing to host them that they would defer till next year. It had me in tears because I already love them so much and I haven’t even been in the same room (nevertheless on the same continent) as them. We have been talking since October 2019 and built such a trusting and loving relationship it would break my heart even more if they didn’t at least want to try to come next year. So I am glad we are putting this into motion and will plan to have an amazing year still in a better and healthier climate.


America and Americans have a lot of great things to offer and teach exchange students, even though we are a hot mess right now we will come back and hopefully in a better more conscious of our choices way. So, I say again: let us take this time to repair and rebuild. Let us make Spring 2021 and Exchange Year 2021-2022 the best yet! Let us have a great come-back story!



I will continue to post blogs about the exchange expierence for anyone planning on hosting or interested in it! Please stay tuned! If you are interested in helping a student for the 2021-2022 exchange year please reach out.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page