top of page
Search
  • heathermarohl

So, Now What?



So, our students for this year (class of 2020) have been gone, back to their home countries, for two weeks now. While I am still upset with the how, I understand the why. I do feel slightly less stressed not having to directly worry about their well-being (of course I still worry but I am not responsible for their safety and daily lives), so that is the upside. As our part of the world circles into more chaos it is nice to have the girls in their bio parents care. Our county in North Carolina is just starting to get “confirmed” cases of the Covid-19, only three as last I looked and we are rural so it *should* be slower moving, but I am sure more people than three have it and either are sick and have not been tested or are not showing symptoms yet. It is only a matter of time before we have more confirmed cases and we do not even have a proper clinic in our county, we have to go to neighboring county or even state for hospital care. So, not having to take care of two teenagers is a lift. Plus they would be bored to tears by now.


So, now what? In regards to us: we wait. We wait to see what will happen with the virus and the world as a whole. Our girls from last year (class of 2019) are supposed to visit this summer, one with her family and one solo. Are they going to be able to come? I sure hope so, I miss them so much and I could use something to look forward to. We are also supposed to be hosting two wonderful new girls for next school year, will this be over by the end of July when they are supposed to arrive in country (they go to a camp in Pennsylvania for 10 days before traveling to us)? Evidence is showing that the physical/social distancing is working, but in countries where they have pretty much stamped it out are having little flare-ups when relaxing it too soon or too fast.


So how long are we going to be stuck like this? I know everyone is asking the same question for different reasons. When can people go back to work so they can pay their bills, when can people see their loved ones again, when can we travel again, when can we go to a damn bar again? It is a whole lot of frustration. A lot of stress, anxiety, fear, worry, and feeling of helplessness. But it will end. And we will go back to (maybe in shifts) normal life, if slightly altered. May I recommend bowing like the Thai people do instead of hand-shakes?


I am working on the assumption that this will be over (at least mostly) by summer, not because of the heat of the sun but because of the time compared to other countries that are seeing the end of it now. So, if it is over (mostly) by summer hopefully most of our plans with our students won’t be derailed anymore than they already have. And while I miss my students from this year and I am sad that they missed so much, I have to look forward. They will always be in our hearts and are welcome in our home whenever they want/can visit. But I cannot dwell on it anymore, and neither should they, they should be planning for their future months and trying to enjoy their time back home with their families.


For now we are keeping in touch with everyone and are optimistic about our future students arriving on time-ish and having a great year (and not interrupted by some freak virus pandemic). We are also still planning to welcome home our students from last year, we cannot wait to see them!



Also, as soon as I have the time you will find me on a tropical beach somewhere with drink in hand.


Be safe my friends. And wash your hands.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page